Making Drawers, Several Systems

I’ve had a lot of questions lately on making drawers. I’ve used several systems in the
past including dovetails, miter locks, dados, Kreg Jig, and Drawer Lock router bits.

Let’s face it. We’re not making heirloom furniture to be passed on to future generations
or purchased by collectors. We need something that gets the job done with the least
hassle.

Over the years I’ve used the Quarter/Quarter/Quarter system and it has produced good
results. It requires cutting slots to hold everything together. I use a tongue and groove
router bit to cut the slots, but you can also use a dado blade on the table saw. Different
tool, same end result. Here’s a link to a video that @Matt sent me showing the Q/Q/Q
system.

The way I’ve been making drawers for the last 15 years is with a drawer lock router
bit. The process is very similar to the Q/Q/Q method. Just a different router bit. Some
manufacturers make different router bits depending on the thickness of the wood you’re
going to use, one for 1/2 inch thick wood, and one for 3/4 inch thick wood. Others make
one bit for both thicknesses of wood. They all work the same way.

I use 1/2 inch plywood for all my drawers when building out a van. When making a
drawer with a drawer lock bit you’d still use a tongue and groove bit or make a dado cut
on the table saw to cut the slots for holding the bottom drawer panel in place.

The Q/Q/Q, Drawer Lock, and in fact, all sound drawer making systems require a bit of
fiddling with the setup of the cutters to get everything just right. You have to set the
distance of the blade from the fence, the height of the blade, and if using a dado blade
on a table saw, the width of the slot.

Here’s a video showing all the in’s-n-out’s of using a drawer lock bit.

This is similar to the bit I use:

You need drawers to be square and they need to stay square - forever. The best way
I’ve found to achieve this is to use some sort of interlocking system at the corner joints.